In reading Suzanne Wuerthele's article on genetic engineering in the February/March 2000 Peak and Prairie, I was struck by her observation in her closing paragraph about religious dietary restrictions.

Not only do vegetarians need to be concerned about animal genetic material being part of their fare, similar uncertainty attends those who want to keep kosher.

If genetic material from a forbidden creature is included in an otherwise acceptable food is it all rendered trayf? What about porcine genes and the sensitivities of Moslems or Hindus? The Sepoy Rebellion is said to have started over the Indian troops' discovery that their cartridges were greased with religiously "unclean" animal fat!

Steven Chostler

Denver, Colorado

April 2000 Online Newsletter - Peak & Prairie Home Page - Rocky Mountain Chapter Home Page